30 weeks

Hi. It’s not that I forgot about blogging… it’s just I’m completely overwhelmed and am mired in trying to get to the finish line.

30 weeks yesterday. Everything progressing as normal. Baby growing as expected, no contractions, no bleeding, nothing but a perfectly normal pregnancy. I’m doing everything under the sun to have a different birth outcome than last time. Seriously.

Therapy: check
Chiropractic: check
Acupuncture: check
Massage: check
CranioSacral: check
Mayan Abdominal Massage: check
Yoga: check
Walking: check
High doses of Magnesium: check

I’m sure I’m forgetting something, but you get the picture.  The last thing I want is another 4 day labor with 13 hours of pushing that ends with me on an operating table losing my fucking mind.   So yeah, I’m busy with that.

Then you know, I’m parenting a special needs *almost* 6 year old. Honestly I have very distinct fears and concerns about how I’m going to parent two kids, especially my kid and a newborn. I don’t know how to put words to it yet, but I have another local autism mama who has a 7 year old and a 6 month old that has graciously agreed to meet with me and talk about these fears. I know I can do it, hell, I know I can do anything I set my mind to, right? RIGHT! BoC  is out of school in a few days which means my days of leisurely attending appointments during the day on my days off work are coming to an end. I have a niece in town who is out of nursing school for the summer, so I have an easy (free!) go to sitter, but it’s not the same. Besides, it’s my last summer with BoC as an only child, I want to have some special days with her. So I’m planning park days, and zoo dates and and and.

Then, you’re aware I run my own business, right? Yeah, well I do. I’m a Chiropractor, I work from home, and run a solo practice that is *very* busy. Well, as busy as I want to be working 3 days a week, and really? 40 patients a week is all I can do when I’m *not* pregnant. At 40 patients a week I’m booked from the moment I have open office hours to the moment I close the doors… and then I have to do the administrative work of running a business, which is easily another 4-8 hours a week, and that shit is NOT getting done right now. I have SO much crap to do, and no time or energy.  Once I finish patients, I either need to get upstairs  and wait for BoC’s bus or I am so exhausted that I can’t think straight. I can’t take maternity leave without getting all this under control, obviously.

(Case in point, I started this blog post 2 days ago)

The other little thing to figure out is… where will my patients go while I’m on leave? When I had BoC I wasn’t nearly as busy, my practice had just gone through a big change and was rebuilding so it was easy to slow down. While I was on maternity leave, I had a friend who was between jobs see my patients and it was easy peasy. Now that I work from home, the last thing I want is someone seeing patients in my basement while I’m trying to enjoy a new baby and help my 6 year old with Autism adjust to a huge new life. So, obviously I’m not bringing someone in… I’ll be sending everyone out. When I go on vacation (like we just went to Maui for 10 days, oooooh yeah) I usually just have a notice on my website and voicemail about who to call in my absence, but for 12 weeks (YES I AM TAKING 12 WEEKS! or at least i’m gonna try…) I’d rather have one go to person and a few back ups. The 3 docs I normally refer to are also busy so none of them could handle the volume I deal with so I have to hunt for a doc who isn’t busy. I think I found her, she also has a home practice and does similar work to me. We’re meeting on Wednesday to see if it’s a good fit, and if it is, she’s about to hit the newish doc jackpot. I have no doubt most of them will come back to me when I am back, but the 12 new ones I get each month? Well.. hopefully she’s good.

So after I find the right person, then there are all the logistics of getting people referred to her, changing my website, etc.  It’s not remotely as easy as calling HR and telling them what days I’ll be gone and passing projects off to a coworker. Some days I envy those that don’t work for themselves… but then I remember that I work 25 hours a week in the comfort of my own home and I STFU.

((it’s been 3 days since I worked on this post, do you see how this is going?))

I did meet the other doc, and she needs some mentoring, but I think she’ll be ok. Check that shit off the list.

So now, as I end this post, tomorrow I’ll be 31 weeks. I have yoga and grocery shopping to do, weeds to pull and want to clean the carpet on the top floor of the house because tomorrow night my mother in law, brother in law, sister in law and nephew are coming for 10 days. 10 days in which I will still work and entertain and probably cook dinner each night for all these people. Or maybe we’ll just fucking order pizza.

31 weeks. 7-11 weeks till we have a baby. A baby that I keep forgetting isn’t biologically related to me. There are so many layers wrapped up in prepping for this birth that I keep missing that little tidbit. Right now it seems like ancient history, but I have no doubt it’s going to rear up and bite me in the ass at some point in the next few weeks.

Add that to the list of things I need to do, cause clearly I’m not busy enough.

~ by zeneggs on June 16, 2012.

3 Responses to “30 weeks”

  1. So glad to hear from you! and very happy to hear that all is going well, at least in the pregnancy department! Summer was a great time for us to adjust to being a family of 4. Our DE baby is 1 today and life is grand. there have been moments of ‘what were we thinking’ but we feel complete and grateful to have him. Best of luck, delegate! if youcan 😉

  2. Wow are you busy! If I were you I would be ballzy and give jobs out to all your family staying with you. I hope you get everything settled and get some rest and time with BoC

  3. Wow due date is around the corner. I am only 5 months 2 weeks and feeling so anxious about the birth and it feels like my pregnancy is flying by. Good luck with sorting out your practice and please keep us posted

Leave a Reply

 
