9w2d DBTs galore

Next ultrasound is Tuesday morning. This morning I was struck with fear and DBTs. What’s a DBT? Aw come on, do only the old timers know what DBTs are?
Dead baby thoughts. That fear that you’ll get the wand only to find there is no heartbeat. That appointment or blood draw where you’re told this isn’t a viable pregnancy. Yeah. It’s good times.
During my pregnancy with BoC I had two bouts of bleeding that sent me into bed rest and the depth of fear. Once at 17 and then at 19 weeks. With the first one I was laying on my midwife’s table within the hour hearing her heartbeat. The second I waited it out with a little less fear and saw her the next day. After the second episode I bought a fetoscope and listened to her daily. I’d considered renting a doppler, but that gave me trepidation so we went old school. Somehow I don’t know if I can get through 10 more weeks of off and on fear till I can hear with my scope.

Tuesday seems so far away.

~ by zeneggs on January 16, 2012.

2 Responses to “9w2d DBTs galore”

  1. Ah yes, the DBTs. Big, big hugs and lots of love.

  2. Be gone, DBTs!!! I was plagued with them throughout both successful pregnancies, sometimes founded but most often not. Pregnancy after infertility and loss is no cake walk. Sending love.

Leave a Reply

 
