8 weeks 1 day

I’m still here, really. I’m just in shock. I’ve come out to my local mom’s FB group (they were guessing as many knew we were doing an FET sometime this winter, and I was talking about being tired and nauseated) and they were all excited (and sworn to secrecy). I’ve come out to my whole family (BoC showed up at our family holiday gathering wearing a shirt that said “Big Sister”). I have no interest in being completely public until at least after the next US, and probably not till after that. I almost came out to a patient at work, only because I started gagging when I bent over to adjust her. A few patients know, but only because they are also my friends.

Mostly I’m just in shock.  I’m pregnant. 8 weeks, 1 day, pregnant. I’ve been here before, but it’s been so long and there have been so many failures since then that I don’t know how to be here. But I’m here in full force. Tender and growing boobs, constant nausea (oh holy hell, thank g-d for sea bands!), insomnia, exhaustion and an uncanny sense of smell. Oh god, the smells. I could smell a vagrant on the side of the road with my windows up. At Trader Joe’s tonight someone was eating a sample and I thought I was going to throw up in the freezer section. I have every perfect first trimester symptom. I’m pregnant, actually truly pregnant.

We’ve talked about providers for the birth and have made appointments to interview. I’ve started thinking about what I’ll do for maternity leave, will someone run my practice (out of my house?), or will I just refer people out for the time I’m off. How much time will I take off? all of it.

Of course every time I think of these things I expect to start bleeding or to have some other obvious sign that I’m really NOT pregnant.  But I am. I am 8 glorious weeks and 1 awesome day pregnant.

Holy Shitballs.

~ by zeneggs on January 9, 2012.

7 Responses to “8 weeks 1 day”

  1. Holy shitballs? Damned right you’re pregnant. And you’re going to turn around before you know it and you’ll be full term. I can’t wait. ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ you.

  2. Congrats on 8 weeks! Yay for all the symptoms. Glad everything is going good!

  3. I am eating some cold french fries with tea.

    You like that?

    Mwah!

  4. This is so very fantabulous. And as I write this? You’re 8 glorious weeks and *2* awesome days pregnant!!! Bet you thought it couldn’t get any better than yesterday, huh? Love you and this.

  5. That’s a lie, actually; today is 8w3d; I let the date on the post fool me. Wahoooooo!!!!! ❤

  6. Ack!!!!! How have I not commented yet?!?! I could have sworn I did when I first read your amazing, wonderful, tear-swipingly good news. I couldn’t be happier for you. xoxoxoxoxoxox

Leave a Reply

 
